April 16 RRNA Meeting Highlights

SAPD Officer Betty Cardona, our new neighborhood SAFFE officer, came to introduce herself and discuss her role and safety issues in our neighborhood.

The main topic of discussion was an April 14 meeting convened by District 1 Councilperson Cisneros to address flooding issues in our area of the city. Attendees included the San Antonio River Authority (SARA) staff and SARA District 2 representative Roberto Rodriguez, staff from the City of San Antonio and Bexar County, and RRNA representatives Larry DeMartino and Barbara Witte-Howell. DeMartino reported on the meeting content and recommendations of the RRNA Drainage Committee. These include:

  • A review of short and long-term Witte Museum projects to determine flooding implications for the River Road neighborhood
  • A request for a time schedule of current projects to alleviate flooding, by the cities of San Antonio and Alamo Heights, Bexar County, and SARA, that increase discharge into the San Antonio River above the neighborhood
  • A request for a time schedule and cost of projects to alleviate flooding in the River Road neighborhood.

The RRNA Drainage Committee calls for a moratorium on all projects until issues of neighborhood flooding are addressed. The board approved sending a memo summarizing meeting content and RRNA recommendations to appropriate government officials. [Note: A copy of this memo was emailed to the neighborhood 5/15/09.]

We also elected RRNA Officers and confirmed RRNA Committees. Elected by acclamation were: Richard Reed, Chair, Larry Clark, Vice-Chair, and Anne Larme, Secretary. Ed Piner will continue his appointment as Treasurer.

RRNA committees include:
Communications – Boothe-Meredith, Sullivan, Grover
Traffic and Sidewalks – Clark
Drainage – Reed, Witte-Howell, DeMartino, Sullivan, Schweers
History – Sibley, Larme
River Care – Clark, Augie Cortez, Russ Smith
Events – Brogan, Briseno
Yard Sale – Piner, Mimi Quintanilla, Griswold
By-Laws (special committee) – Sally Buchanan, DeMartino, Hector Gonzalez, Chris Green, Grover, Quintanilla

Neighborhood Affiliative Representatives:
Zoning Overlay (changed from NCD/Historic District) – John Larcade, chair
Kings Court – Bob Buchanan, DeMartino
River Oversight Committee – Reed
San Antonio Conservation Society – Witte-Howell

Leave a Reply